Top 10 College Basketball Teams of All Time April 02 2015, 1 Comment

Bill Walton 1972 UCLA
1972 UCLA Bruins (30-0)
Bill Walton, Jamaal Wilkes, Swen Nater and Henrey Bibby helped lead UCLA to an undefeated season in 1972. They won by an average margin of 32 points per game. The season was also part of UCLA's NCAA record 88-game winning streak. The UCLA streak contributed to a personal streak that lasted almost 5 years for head coach John Wooden. This teams basketball IQ was simply off the charts. The Bruins greatness can be summed up from Bill Walton's disappointed about his team's 81-76 victory over Florida State in the championship game.  "I'm really embarrassed, I can't believe how bad I played. I'd have to say it was one of my worst games. We should have beat these guys with ease. I guess I should be happy that we won, but, in all honesty, I'm not."
Tony Delk Untouchables
1996 Kentucky Wildcats (34-2)
Known as the Untouchables, this was the deepest college basketball team of all time. Kentucky featured 11 future NBA players on their rosters. Led by Ron Mercer, Tony Delk, Walter McCarty, Antoine Walker and Derek Anderson. Head coach Rick Pattino was able to keep elite talent, like freshman Ron Mercer happy while only playing 12 minutes a game. The Wildcats won their six tourney games by an average of 21 points. They used relentless defensive pressure, uptempo offense and great depth to dominate throughout the season. For an example of the destruction they caused opponents check out their first half route of LSU in conference play. The closest anyone got to beating them in the NCAA Tournament was seven points.
Lew Alcindor UCLA
1967 UCLA Bruins (30-0)
The Bruins went undefeated going wire to wire as the number one team in America. The team was led by starters Lew Alcindor, Lucius Allen, Lynn Shackleford, Mike warren and Kenny Heitz. Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) had his best individual year averaging 29 points per game (still a school record) to go along with 15 rebounds per game. In the tournament they left no doubt, crushing teams by 15 or more points in each game.
Scott May Indiana
1976 Indiana Hoosiers (32-0)
Scott May, Kent Benson and Quinn Buckner were All-America selections in both 1975 and 1976 seasons helping to lead the Hoosiers to the 1976 title. Over the 1975 and 1976 seasons the Hoosiers went 63-1. To win the title Indiana got a combined 51 points from Scott May and Kent Benson and a superb performance by Quinn Buckner. On the season, Indiana outscored opponents by an average margin of 17 ppg. Thought by many of Bobby Knight's "critics" to be his best team.
Grant Hill Duke
1992 Duke Blue Devils (34-2)
Grant Hill, Christan Laettner, Bobby Hurley helped Duke to back to back National Titles. The Blue Devils won their second straight NCAA title in 1992. Ranked No. 1 the entire season, the Blue Devils won its first 17 games before loosing to North Carolina by 2. Their only other loss of the season was a 72-68 game at Wake Forrest. They were able to dismantle Michigan's Fab Five in the final with a 71-51 victory. Since 1980 only this Duke team and the 2007 Florida Gators were able to repeat as champs.
Bill Russell USF
1956 San Francisco Dons (29-0)
Future NBA teammates Bill Russell and KC Jones helped lead the Dons to back to back championships in the 50's. Going into the National Championship in 1956 their unbeaten streak had reached 55 games. During the 56 season San Francisco hadn't won a regular season game by less than seven points.
Patrick Ewing Georgetown 1985
1984 Georgetown Hoyas (35-3)
Led by future NBA talent Patrick Ewing, Reggie Williams, David Wingate, Michael Jackson and Bill Martin the Hoyas dominated on their way to the Championship. Georgetown helped bring the newly formed Big East into national spotlight. The Hoyas lost by two points against DePaul and Vilanova, and by only four to St Johns when then junior guard Chris Mullin scored 33. This team personified coach John Thompson with intimidation, defensive, toughness, teamwork and athleticism. At a time when college basketball was at its peak, this team found a way to dismantle almost everyone they played.
Best College Basketball Teams - 1982 North Carolina
1982 North Carolina Tarheels (32-2)
Michael Jordan, James Worthy, Sam Perkins and Dean Smith formed the necessary parts to form a Championship team in the 82 season. Beating a heavily favored Georgetown team, Michael Jordan hit the game winning shot in the final seconds (giving glimpses into Jordan's future). The title was the first for Legendary coach Dean Smith.
Larry Johnson UNLV Running Rebels
1990 UNLV Running Rebels (35-5)
Featuring All-Americans Larry Johnson, Stacey Augmon and Greg Anthony the high scoring, fast pace Rebels won the title in 1990. Smashing most of their adversaries, the Runnin Rebels routed future dynasty Duke by 30 points to capture the National Championship. The team had great scoring balance as guard Anderson Hunt was named the final four most valuable player. Along with Georgetown of the early 80's and Michigan's Fab Five no team has has had a bigger effect on street fashion than these Runnin Rebels. The 1991 season would see UNLV go undefeated until they lost to Duke in the 1991 Championship game.
Al Horford Florida Gators
2007 Florida Gators (35-5)
The 2007 Florida Gators repeated as National Champs beating Ohio State in the final. Led by a strong inside game, the Gators beat opponents by an average of 14 point per game. Joakim Noah and Al Horford led the way inside while Corey Brewer and Lee Humphrey kept the defense honest. Freshman Marreese Speights came off the bench to provide depth for Florida. Noah, Horford and Brewer decided to spurn the NBA and come back to school for their junior season, after winning the championship the prior year.
Honorable Mention
1960 Ohio State, 1974 NC State, 2009 North Carolina, 2004 Uconn, 2001 Duke, 1997 Arizona